---
title: "What do free scheduling plans actually include? | Calendar Booking Lab"
url: https://calendarbookinglab.com/guides/free-scheduling-plan-limits
---

[Guides](/guides) · Updated 2026-10-29

# What do free scheduling plans actually include?

Free scheduling plans usually cover one person and state no cap on bookings, but they limit how much you can set up: some allow a single event type or booking page, several connect only one calendar for conflict checks, and none of the free plans we track remove the vendor's branding. Payments, team scheduling, custom reminders and branding removal are where most free plans stop. See the table below for each tool's limits.

## What do free scheduling plans include?

A free scheduling plan gives one person a booking link that checks a calendar and adds bookings to it. The differences are in how many event types you can offer, how many calendars it checks for conflicts, and whether you can use it for a business. The table is generated from each vendor’s pricing page and updated when they change:

12 of the 16 scheduling tools we rank have a free plan. Chili Piper, Acuity Scheduling, SavvyCal and Microsoft Bookings have no free plan.

| Tool | Business use | Event types | Calendars checked | Bookings |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Cal.com](/tools/cal-com) (Free) | Yes | Unlimited | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| [Calendly](/tools/calendly) (Free) | Yes | 1 | 1 | No cap stated |
| [OnceHub](/tools/oncehub) (Basic) | Yes | 1 | 1 | No cap stated |
| [Koalendar](/tools/koalendar) (Free) | Yes | Unlimited | 2 | Unlimited |
| [TidyCal](/tools/tidycal) (Free) | Yes | Unlimited | 1 | Unlimited |
| [YouCanBookMe](/tools/youcanbookme) (Free) | Yes | 1 | 1 | No cap stated |
| [Zoho Bookings](/tools/zoho-bookings) (Free) | Yes | 1 | 1 | No cap stated |
| [Zcal](/tools/zcal) (Free) | Yes | Unlimited | Unlimited | No cap stated |
| [HubSpot Meetings](/tools/hubspot-meetings) (Free) | Yes | 1 | 1 | No cap stated |
| [Doodle](/tools/doodle) (Free) | Yes | 1 | 10 | No cap stated |
| [Setmore](/tools/setmore) (Free) | Yes | not stated | not stated | No cap stated |
| [Google Calendar appointment schedules](/tools/google-appointment-schedules) (Free) | Yes | 1 | 1 | No cap stated |

From each vendor's pricing page; see [free scheduling tools](/best/free) for what each free plan includes and leaves out.

The rest of this guide explains the patterns behind those numbers and the limits the table doesn’t show: users, branding, reminders and what makes people upgrade.

## How many event types or booking pages does a free plan allow?

This is the limit people hit first. Some free plans allow unlimited event types; others allow only one, which means one meeting length or one service on your booking page. See the Event types column above.

On Calendly’s community forum, “[Only one active event type in free version of Calendly?](https://community.calendly.com/how-do-i-40/only-one-active-event-type-in-free-version-of-calendly-1102)” has 1,369 views. A Calendly community moderator answered that “only one event type is able to be ‘turned on’ with our free plan,” and that multiple event types work during the free trial. That is why accounts that drop from a trial to the free plan suddenly find event types switched off.

Google Calendar works the same way: with a personal Google account “you can create a single booking page,” and “Create more than one appointment schedule” needs an eligible Google Workspace or Google One plan ([Google Calendar help](https://support.google.com/calendar/answer/16287038?hl=en)).

## Which calendars does a free plan check for conflicts?

Several free plans check only one connected calendar. If you keep work and personal events in separate calendars, a free plan that checks one of them will offer times that clash with the other, and people can book over existing events. The Calendars checked column shows each free plan’s limit.

Google Calendar’s appointment schedules have the same catch: “To check availability from secondary calendars, you need to have an eligible Google Workspace or Google One plan” ([Google Calendar help](https://support.google.com/calendar/answer/16287054?hl=en)). Setmore’s free plan marks two-way calendar sync as “No”; it is a Pro feature ([Setmore pricing](https://www.setmore.com/pricing)).

If double-booking matters, check this column before anything else.

## How many users can a free scheduling plan have?

Most free plans are for one person. Cal.com’s free plan lists “1 user” ([Cal.com pricing](https://cal.com/pricing)), Zoho Bookings says “Free for one user” ([Zoho Bookings pricing](https://www.zoho.com/bookings/pricing.html)), and OnceHub’s Basic plan is “One User, One Connected Calendar, and One Booking Link” ([OnceHub pricing](https://www.oncehub.com/pricing)).

Setmore is the exception: its free plan covers a small team of staff calendars ([Setmore pricing](https://www.setmore.com/pricing)). Shared team links are a paid feature elsewhere. Calendly puts round-robin scheduling on its Teams plan ([Calendly help](https://calendly.com/help/how-to-set-up-a-team-round-robin-event-type)), and Cal.com’s free plan notes that team and collaboration features need a paid plan ([Cal.com pricing](https://cal.com/pricing)).

## Do free scheduling plans cap the number of bookings?

Usually not. The limits are on what you set up, not on how many people book:

-   Calendly: “Host as many scheduled meetings as you need with no booking cap” ([Calendly pricing](https://calendly.com/pricing)).
-   Cal.com: “Start scheduling for free, with no usage limits” ([Cal.com pricing](https://cal.com/pricing)).
-   Setmore: “Unlimited appointments” on Free and Pro ([Setmore pricing](https://www.setmore.com/pricing)).

The Bookings column shows “No cap stated” where a vendor doesn’t say either way. Don’t confuse vendor caps with booking limits you set yourself, such as a maximum number of meetings per day. OnceHub’s free Basic plan includes “Booking Limits: Combine daily, weekly, and monthly limits” ([OnceHub pricing](https://www.oncehub.com/pricing)), while Zoho Bookings puts appointment limits on Premium ([Zoho Bookings plan comparison](https://www.zoho.com/bookings/plan-comparison.html)).

## Can I remove the vendor’s branding on a free plan?

Not on any free plan we track. Branding removal is always a paid feature:

-   Calendly can turn off branding on “Standard, Teams, and Enterprise plans, as well as the legacy Professional plan” ([Calendly help](https://calendly.com/help/how-to-turn-off-calendly-branding-on-your-scheduling-page)).
-   Cal.com lists “Remove Cal.com branding” on its Teams plan ([Cal.com pricing](https://cal.com/pricing)).
-   OnceHub lets you “Remove the ‘Powered by OnceHub’ Banner” from its Schedule plan ([OnceHub pricing](https://www.oncehub.com/pricing)).
-   Setmore says “if you have Setmore Pro, you can remove these elements” ([Setmore help](https://support.setmore.com/en/articles/491017-remove-setmore-branding-from-your-booking-page)).
-   Zoho Bookings offers white labelling on Premium only ([Zoho Bookings plan comparison](https://www.zoho.com/bookings/plan-comparison.html)).

Doodle goes further: “No ads for organizers or participants” and “Add custom logo and branding” are both paid features, so the free plan shows ads ([Doodle help](https://help.doodle.com/en/articles/10448913-doodle-free-and-doodle-professional-differences-at-a-glance)).

## Are free scheduling plans for personal use only?

Some vendors limit free plans to personal, non-commercial use, which rules out client bookings for a business. The Business use column in the table marks any free plan with that restriction, quoted from the vendor’s terms.

Watch for two near-misses that aren’t free plans for business:

-   **SavvyCal** lets you “sign up, connect your calendars, set up your links, and use meeting polls for free,” but “To let people book from your links, you need Basic or Premium” ([SavvyCal pricing](https://savvycal.com/pricing)).
-   **Cal.diy**, the self-hosted community edition of Cal.com, says it “is strictly recommended for personal, non-production use” and points commercial users to Cal.com ([Cal.diy on GitHub](https://github.com/calcom/cal.diy)).

## Do free scheduling plans send reminders?

Most send a standard confirmation, but reminders you can customize, and text messages, are usually paid:

-   **Calendly** does not include automated meeting reminders on Free ([Calendly pricing](https://calendly.com/pricing)).
-   **Cal.com** lets free users build workflows, but “email steps use the default template text and can’t be edited” ([Cal.com help](https://cal.com/help/workflows/workflowsoverview)).
-   **Setmore**: “Send 1 reminder on Free. Upgrade to Pro for 2 reminders.” SMS reminders are Pro only ([Setmore pricing](https://www.setmore.com/pricing)).
-   **Zoho Bookings** sends automatic confirmation, reminder, cancellation and no-show emails on Free; custom templates start on Basic and text messages on Premium ([Zoho Bookings plan comparison](https://www.zoho.com/bookings/plan-comparison.html)).
-   **OnceHub** Basic sends standard email and calendar notifications; customizable email and text notifications start on Schedule ([OnceHub pricing](https://www.oncehub.com/pricing)).
-   **Google Calendar** puts “Send automatic email reminders” behind an eligible paid plan ([Google Calendar help](https://support.google.com/calendar/answer/16287038?hl=en)).

## What makes people upgrade from a free scheduling plan?

The usual triggers, in the vendors’ own plan tables:

1.  **A second event type or booking page**, where the free plan allows one.
2.  **A second calendar to check**, to stop double-bookings.
3.  **Taking payment.** Calendly, Zoho Bookings, OnceHub and SavvyCal need a paid plan for payments; Cal.com, Doodle and Setmore allow them on free plans. See our guide to [taking payment when booking](/guides/take-payment-when-booking).
4.  **Removing branding** or ads.
5.  **Custom or SMS reminders.**
6.  **A team link**: round robin, shared availability or more users.
7.  **Integrations.** Calendly’s pricing page marks HubSpot, Salesforce and Zapier as not included on Free ([Calendly pricing](https://calendly.com/pricing)).

If none of these apply, a free plan may be all you need. Check the table’s Business use column first.

## Where to compare booking tools

-   [All scheduling tools compared](/)
-   [Free scheduling tools](/best/free), with each free plan’s limits side by side
-   [Pricing for every plan](/pricing)

## Questions

### Do free scheduling plans limit how many bookings I get?

Usually not. Calendly says "no booking cap", Cal.com says "no usage limits" and Setmore lists "Unlimited appointments"; the limits are on setup, not volume.

### Can I remove the "Powered by" branding on a free plan?

Not on the free plans we track. Calendly, Cal.com, OnceHub, Setmore and Zoho Bookings all put branding removal on a paid plan.

### Why can people book over my events on a free plan?

Some free plans check only one connected calendar, so events in a second calendar don't block time. The Calendars checked column in the table shows each free plan's limit.

### Can a team use a free scheduling plan?

Most free plans are for one user. Setmore's free plan allows a small team, and round-robin or shared team links need a paid plan in tools such as Calendly and Cal.com.

### Is SavvyCal free?

You can sign up and set up links for free, but SavvyCal's pricing FAQ says "To let people book from your links, you need Basic or Premium."

### Can I use Google Calendar's booking pages for free?

Yes, with one booking page on a personal Google account. More than one appointment schedule, automatic email reminders and checking several calendars need an eligible Google Workspace or Google One plan.
